Opinion

Tragedies of Compassionate Conservatism

Submitted by david.reagan on Sun, 04/15/2018 - 11:46

This transcription of a talk by Marvin Olasky is well worth the read. It's a succinct summary of how Compassionate Conservatism died. He also talks about how things changed in the Bush administration, that I think explain why many people don't really seem to understand what Compassionate Conservatism is. Compassionate Conservatism is about charity performed by individuals. Not charity centralized in the Government.

The tragedies of compassionate conservatism

Politics in 2016

Submitted by david.reagan on Thu, 06/30/2016 - 19:28

Here are a few thoughts (sorta rants) on politics this year. Largely just preaching to myself. Feel free to chime in in the comments.

First

The ratio between the attention we spend on Federal politics and the attention we spend on local politics is far to heavily weighted towards the Federal side. Yes, it is important. But you are much more likely to be able to influence local politics than Federal. So, spend more time paying attention to State, County, and City politics.

Our Tax System is Broken

Submitted by david.reagan on Thu, 07/14/2011 - 18:24

Right, everyone hates taxes. That's a given. But want to know why people get really mad? It's not because they have to pay the Government so it can do it's work. It's not because people are greedy. No, it's because they can be as careful as possible in reporting their income, and still get a bill telling them that they got it wrong.

Case in point. I got a letter today saying I own $300+ dollars in taxes to Oregon. Apparently I reported my scholarship income wrong.

A true "Liberal" speaks out

Submitted by david.reagan on Sat, 07/09/2011 - 17:08

First, go watch the video and read the interview at this link: http://www.black-and-right.com/2011/07/08/the-regretful-obama-voter-speaks/

In the video, she talks about how Obama lied about wanting a Single Payer Health Care System, as well as how the recession is mainly due to the Left's policies. Oh, and I found her comment about the WHO report to be very interesting, I'll have to look into it myself sometime soon.

A quote:

True Causes of the Financial Crisis of 2008

Submitted by david.reagan on Mon, 06/20/2011 - 16:30

I've heard parts of what is in this article, The True Story of the Financial Crisis, before. But seldom from a source that had the qualifications of Peter J. Wallison.

The two takeaways:

  1. Leftist ideology caused the financial meltdown.
  2. The people who were supposed to figure out why the meltdown happened covered up the true reasons because they did not fit their ideology.

So, remember this article as you vote in elections.

To Leftists Everywhere, What Am I Missing?

Submitted by david.reagan on Sat, 06/18/2011 - 19:56

The Intro

Now, I am mainly aiming this question at fellow Christians who support Leftist politicians and policies, but I left that adjective off the noun in the title because I believe non-Christians could have the answer as well. So, here is the question:

What sinful policies and actions do people on the Right support and promote? I'm asking about things that are not debatable. Some could try to argue that the Rights opposition to Obamacare or economically devastating "Green" policies, is sinful, but some could argue the exact opposite just as easily.

My opinion on what today's votes will mean

Submitted by david.reagan on Tue, 11/02/2010 - 07:20

I'll keep it short and sweet, I hope. Today is voting day! And, according to many opinions I have read, the GOP is going to win big. I tend to agree with them, but it doesn't really make me happy.

Obama was voted into office because people were tired of Bush and his policies. Obama then took the worst parts of Bush's policies and increased them a thousandfold. Big spending, big government, bad leadership in the wars, etc. Americans are rightfully ticked off by that, and today's votes will reflect that.

Peter DeFazio, Art Robinson, and Concerned Taxpayers of America

Submitted by david.reagan on Fri, 10/01/2010 - 19:25

I generally pay little attention to local politics. I've moved around so much in my life, that I've never felt like they mattered to me. Thus, I hadn't really heard of any of the people in the title, other than DeFazio, before. Then a friend posted a link on Facebook to an article about DeFazio going after CTA (Concerned Taxpayers of America).

A link that points out some of the double thinking going on

Submitted by david.reagan on Tue, 09/21/2010 - 16:39

The Curious Logic of Our Governing Elites

Thought I'd share this with more than just my Facebook friends. It's a great article that I wish I'd have written. It pretty much encapsulates why I have a hard time believing anything coming from the left. Or from any of the politicians on either side, so much of what comes out of Washington is double thinking. Anyway, go read it. :D

The DISCLOSE Act

Submitted by david.reagan on Fri, 06/18/2010 - 09:37

I've heard a bit about this act before. But today I read an article that talked about how the National Right to Life Committee and other Pro-Life groups are opposing it. That caught my interest since I consider abortion to be the worst cancer on our society, ever. It's far worse than slavery. So I decided to do some research. Here is the summary of the bill from Open Congress.

Taxes

Submitted by david.reagan on Tue, 04/13/2010 - 20:50

So, everyone hates taxes, right? Personally, I don't mind paying the Government what I owe them. As much as I dislike how things may be running right now, the Government still deserves my money for keeping me safe and keeping various things running smoothly.

That said, the current tax system needs to be junked. It's a giant waste of money that only benefits rich people who can pay people to find the loopholes that let them pay fewer taxes. And it's a pointless waste of time for those of us with such low incomes, that we don't pay taxes, and don't receive much for a refund.

Democrats! Don't Bypass the Vote!

Submitted by david.reagan on Fri, 03/19/2010 - 20:20
Update, day after this first posted, the Democrats decided not to be completely stupid. FoxNews story. So, there is still some hope for them.

So, I've tried to keep my posts relatively free of partisanship. I dislike all the Washington D.C. politicians, bar a few who actually have the guts to stand by their principles (though, Ron Paul and possibly Coburn are the only ones I know of.) Republican or Democrat, doesn't really matter to me. What matters is what they do.

Pondering on Politics and Personal Responsibility

Submitted by david.reagan on Sun, 11/22/2009 - 07:46

If you've been reading this blog at all, you will have noticed that I have been posting quite a bit on political matters. Like cap and trade, health care reform, etc. Something I have been thinking about is why I care so much about these things. After all, as a Christian, my overriding goal is the salvation of souls. So, how does worrying about politics tie into being a Christian? 1 John 3:16

From Their Mouths, Not Mine

Submitted by david.reagan on Fri, 10/23/2009 - 13:43

So, I've thought that it was fairly obvious that Obamacare was designed to create a single payer system ever since I first read about it. Unfortunately some people actually believe the lies told by the left. Obama says he doesn't want a single-payer system, yet he was recorded on video as saying he wanted it in 2003. I haven't heard him explain that yet.

The Future Cap and Trade of Our Livelyhoods

Submitted by david.reagan on Sat, 10/17/2009 - 17:58

Two men were standing outside the Unemployment Office. One said to the other, "You hear about Global Warming? The Government is going to save us from by increasing energy costs!" "Really? That must be why I was fired for turning up the heat." The other replied as he jumped up and down to warm himself.

Heh, I wish I were a cartoonist, that'd make a pretty good cartoon. Anyway, let's look at Cap and Trade seriously.